Faculty development

The Faculty

The roots of the Faculty of Mining, Geology and Petroleum Engineering date back to 1919 when the Chair of Mineralogy and Geology was established at the Technical College. A comprehensive study in mining engineering in Zagreb began in the academic year 1939/1940 with the decision to found the Mining and Metallurgy Section at the Technical Faculty. The section was renamed the Mining Section in 1941, and later the Mining Department. The Mining Section remained a part of the Technical Faculty until the autumn of 1956 when the Faculty was divided into six new faculties. One of them was the Faculty of Chemistry, Food and Mining, which was renamed the Technical Faculty by statutory decision in 1961. In early 1962 the
Mining Department was divided into three departments:

  • Mining Department
  • Geology Department with two divisions:
    • Mining geology, petroleum and gas geology and geophysics,
    • Geological engineering and hydrogeology, and
  • Department for Oil and Gas Drilling

These three departments were soon separated from the Technical Faculty and they represented basic units of the Faculty of Mining, Geology and Petroleum Engineering. The Faculty of Mining, Geology and Petroleum Engineering, established by the decision of the Parliament of the Socialist Republic of Croatia on November 28, 1964, started to operate independently on January 1, 1965.
Over the past nine decades, as an active member of the University of Zagreb, the Faculty has experienced great changes related to social and economic circumstances and has organizationally adapted to every new situation.
Today the Faculty of Mining, Geology and Petroleum Engineering is a higher education institution within the University of Zagreb. The Faculty conducts University studies, carries out scientific research and professional work in the area of technical sciences, the field of mining engineering, petroleum engineering and geological engineering (as the only faculty in the Republic of Croatia), as well as in the area of natural
sciences, the field of geology (as one of two faculties in the Republic of Croatia).
The Faculty of Mining, Geology and Petroleum Engineering is a unit of the University of Zagreb which, through its representatives in the Technical and Natural Sciences Field Councils, as well as in a number of University boards and workgroups, actively contributes to University activities. Faculty employees also participate in the activities of field committees and scientific area councils within the
Ministry of Science, Education and Sports of the Republic of Croatia and hold leading positions in national and international professional associations.
Over the past decade many changes have taken place at the University of Zagreb and our Faculty.
They were caused by the Bologna Process and the restructuring of the entire system of higher education in the Republic of Croatia with the goal of accession to the European Higher Education Area (EHEA) and European Research Area (ERA). The Faculty of Mining, Geology and Petroleum Engineering was accredited for conducting three undergraduate and four graduate study programs in 2005, as well as one postgraduate doctoral study program in 2008.