Three study programmes are carried out within a three-year undergraduate cycle (180 ECTS credits):

  • University Undergraduate Study Programme in Mining Engineering
  • University Undergraduate Study Programme in Geological Engineering
  • University Undergraduate Study Programme in Petroleum Engineering.

The first-year courses of the afore-mentioned study programmes are the same, and they provide students with the basic knowledge of mathematics, physics, chemistry, engineering graphics and computing. In the second year all programmes include basic courses for particular profession, as electrical engineering, thermodynamics, mechanics, fluid mechanics, strength of materials and similar, as well as specific courses that are also lectured in the third year, providing a necessary broadness of education.
Undergraduate programmes are completed with the defence of bachelor thesis in the sixth semester. Study plans for the aforementioned programmes in the academic year 2013/2014 are presented in the tables below. After completing the undergraduate programme and obtaining a corresponding title, a student can enter the labour market or continue education at a corresponding graduate programme, or, with the addition of bridging courses, some other graduate programme at the Faculty of Mining, Geology and Petroleum Engineering or at other higher education institutions in the Republic of Croatia or abroad.


In the academic year 2013/2014 a total of 245 students were enrolled in the first year of the undergraduate study programmes (60 freshmen in the Mining Engineering Programme, 56 freshmen in the Geological Engineering Programme and 55 freshmen in the Petroleum Engineering Programme). A total of 206 students were enrolled in the second year and 148 students in the third year. A total of 115 students defended their bachelor thesis (30 students – Mining Engineering, 38 students – Geological Engineering, 47 students – Petroleum Engineering).
The above mentioned data are presented in the figure below.

Preddiplomski 2